Buckton Vale Logo

Our Curriculum

Reception Curriculum Map 2017-18pdf button

In Reception we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage, the curriculum has been reviewed and a revised EYFS curriculum became statutory in September 2012. The curriculum is now split in 2 main areas, prime and specific.

Prime areas are fundamental, work together, and support development in all other areas. They are split into

  1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  2. Communication and Language
  3. Physical Development

Specific areas include essential skills and knowledge for children to participate successfully in society. They are split into

  1. Literacy
  2. Mathematics
  3. Understanding the World
  4. Expressive Arts and Design

Each area is equally important and are all underpinned by the characteristics of effective learning, these are

Playing and exploring – engagement

  1. Finding out and exploring
  2. Playing with what they know
  3. Being willing to have a go

Active learning – Motivation

  1. Being involved and concentrating
  2. Keeping trying
  3. Enjoying achieving what they set out to do

Creating and thinking critically – thinking

  1. Having their own ideas
  2. Making links
  3. Choosing ways to do things

A parents booklet is provided by the government and can be found pdficon small HERE

Children learn through focused activities, group times and through accessing continuous provision daily. The activities happen both indoors and outdoors in all weathers.