E.Y.F.S. – Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) applies to the learning and development of all children from birth to the end of the Reception Year. Early childhood is the foundation on which children build the rest of their lives. It is not just a preparation for the next stage but is vitally important in itself. Learning for children is a rewarding and enjoyable experience in which they explore, investigate, discover, create, practice, rehearse, repeat, revise and consolidate their developing knowledge, skills, understanding and attitudes. During the Foundation Stage, many of these aspects of learning are brought together effectively through playing and talking.

Our intent
What are we trying to achieve?

At Buckton Vale Primary School we aim to provide the highest quality care and education for all our children thereby giving them a strong foundation for their future learning. We create a safe and happy environment with motivating and enjoyable learning experiences that enable children to become confident and independent learners. We value the individual child and work alongside parents and carers to help every child reach their full potential.
As outlined in the ‘Statutory Framework for Early Years Foundation Stage
Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential. Children develop quickly in the early years and a child's experiences between birth and age five have a major impact on their future life chances.

The EYFS Curriculum

We plan an exciting and challenging curriculum based on our observation of children’s needs, interests, and stages of development across the seven areas of learning to enable the children to enhance their knowledge and understanding of the world around them.
The Seven areas of the the EYFS curriculum are split up into two parts;

Prime Areas
The prime areas of Communication and Language, Physical Development, and Personal, Social and Emotional Development are embedded and developed in every part of the children's school life. The Prime areas underpin success in all other areas of the curriculum and are fundamental life skills. At Buckton Vale we believe these are the initial building blocks to make happy and successful learners and as such make these a priority in the children's learning journey.
Communication and Language
Physical Development
Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Specific Areas
The specific areas of Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Expressive Arts and Design are taught through a combination of teacher led activities and independent learning opportunities. In September, this starts with short teacher led sessions and builds up to longer sessions as the year progresses. At Buckton Vale we follow the Read Write Inc. Phonics scheme and this is taught every day
Understanding the World
Expressive Arts and Design







                       EYFS Long Term Plan